Alumni Updates (August 31-September 6)

Alumni Updates (August 31-September 6)

Members of the Silliman University Alumni Association of Southern California (SUAASC), led by chapter president Faith Manigsaca Duran, recently gathered at the Forest Lawn Cemetery in Los Angeles, California to pay their respects and hold a short reflection service at the gravesite of Dr. David and Laura Hibbard, last August 30, 2015. It was also a time of sharing many good and wonderful memories back at Silliman.

Dr. David Sutherland Hibbard was the first president of Silliman University and his wife Laura was the lone member of the faculty when it opened in 1901 as Silliman Institute. The Hibbards were the ones commissioned by the Board of Foreign Missions to find a location for and eventually establish what now is Silliman University.

SUAASC would like to thank Malcolm Hinopia for his research work in locating the Hibbard’s headstones.

The Silliman University Alumni & Friends @ San Diego recently held their annual picnic to celebrate Silliman University’s 114th Founders Day last August 29, 2015 at the scenic Tideland Park, Coronado, San Diego County. Around 25 members, their families and friends came to the annual event. Some members of the Southern California alumni chapter drove over 150 miles to join the celebration. [email protected] president Dinah Peñaflorida says: “That is the Silliman spirit at work.”
The Sillimanians In Metro Manila (SIMM) chapter recognized three Manila-based alumni in the recent SIMM Galing Awards held last August 30, 2015 at the New World Hotel in Makati City. The awardees were: Dr. Marl V. Ferenal Ph.D., President of Southville International School and Colleges; Dr. Jocelyn Pancrudo Turla, Deputy Commander for Professional Services, Armed Forces of the Philippines; and Mr. Geuel F. Auste, Human Resources Director, New World Hotel Makati.

The Galing Awards is an annual recognition program initiated by the current SIMM leadership headed by Ed Dames. The award is aimed at recognizing outstanding achievers among Sillimanians for their leadership and documented contribution to Philippine society. The members of the selection committee for this year’s Galing Awards were: Mr. Rey Langit, Dr. Toby Dayrit and Dr. Mariano Apilado.