SU Law Advances to National Moot Court Championship

SU Law Advances to National Moot Court Championship

Silliman University advanced into the championship round of the International Humanitarian Law (IHL) National Moot Court Competition held September 30 at the En Banc Session Hall of the Supreme Court.

Composed of College of Law sophomores Zara Marie Dy and Kenny Melody Hotingoy, the Silliman team hurdled a series of elimination rounds that saw 17 teams from different law schools in the Philippines face off. 

The final draw came down to the top two teams: Silliman and University of Cebu (UC). Adjudged this year's champion was UC. 

Last year's tournament made history for Silliman after its team won the championship match against the University of the Philippines College of Law.  The same Silliman team became the country's official delegation to the IHL Moot Court  Competition in Hong Kong in March this year.

Joining the Silliman finalists for this year's competition were alternate mooter Nathan Joseph Ramacho and observer Precious Adlyn Benigay. Coach was Law professor and Salonga Center for Law and Development Deputy Director Atty. Sheila Lynn Catacutan-Besario.

Hosted this year by the Ateneo de Manila University Law School, the moot court competition targets sharper understanding of international humanitarian law. It is organized annually by the International Committee of the Red Cross, an organization that assists and protects victims of armed conflict and other violence, along with the Philippine Red Cross, Philippine Association of Law Schools and the Supreme Court.