Alumni Updates July 31 – August 6, 2017

Alumni Updates July 31 – August 6, 2017

Boston-based alumni of the Silliman Association of New England (SANE) had a lunch meeting last July 28, 2017 with staff of the United Board for Christian Higher Education in Asia (UBCHEA) and UBCHEA fellow Brigitte Villardon, associate dean of Arts and Sciences at Silliman University. The summer program of the 2017 United Board fellows was held at Harvard University.

In the photo are: (seated)  Dr. Angela Wei Ching Wong UBCHEA VP for United Board Programs; Brigitte Villardon; Prof. Priscilla Lasmarias Kelso (past president of SANE); (standing) UBCHEA Senior Manager for Development Trudy Loo, former Silliman Institution Advance Officer Jose Mari Antonio,UBCHEA Development Officer Sahm Forbes, Harvard Kennedy School Center for Public Leadership Assistant Director and former Silliman Salonga Center for Law and Development Director Atty. Myrish Antonio, SANE President Dr. Joy Contado Miller, and SANE member and Presbyterian minister Rev. Bart Kelso.

The Silliman Alumni Association, Inc. (SAAI) Davao chapter’s newly elected officers took their oath last July 25, 2017 at Nanay Bebeng Restaurant, Mabini Street, Davao City. Silliman University Trustee and Dumaguete City Mayor Felipe Antonio B. Remollo officiated the oath taking ceremony.  The new officers are: Yasmin M. Alih (President), Kristel Ann A. Punu (Vice President), Kathryn Dayola-Taganas (Secretary), Leah Aleeza Duran (Treasurer), Jose Arnelito A. Paña (Auditor), and Andy N. Rara (PRO).

SU Trustee Felipe Antonio B. Remollo (left) officiates the oath taking ceremony of the newly elected officers of the Davao Alumni chapter.

Davao alumni chapter president Ms. Yasmin M. Alih 

IN MEMORIAM: Annie Fabruada-Arevalo (Retired SUMC Pharmacist) on May 13, 2017; Ponciano Diputado (Retired SU Press employee) on May 20, 2017; Warlito M. Sanguila (BS ’64; MA ‘72) on May 29, 2017; Raoul B. Viray (HS ‘65) on June 2, 2017; Martha Magdamo-Ghent (HS ‘39) on June 6, 2017; Dan P. Ridad (Elem ’65; HS ’69; AB Econ ‘74) on June 7, 2017; Reynard V. Mancao (HS ’72) on June 22, 2017; Bee Tuan Uy Lim (Elem ’47; HS ’51, BS Chem ’55 summa cum laude) on June 23, 2017; Evelyn Paralejas-Macasaet (HS ’61; BBA ’65; Ms. Silliman ’62-‘63) on June 30, 2017; Mercia Icamen-Yuzon (BSE HE ‘52) on July 16, 2017; Flory Kapau-an Vanderwerf (BSE HE ’63; MA ED ’72; Elem. Teacher ’66-‘80) on July 17, 2017; Dorothy Dore-Dowlen (HS ’41-’42) on July 20, 2017; Josephine Caluscusan-Fontelo (HS ‘73) on July 28, 2017.

The Alumni and External Affairs office continue to invite our alumni to update the University’s Alumni Database through this link: