Engineering Bet Crowned Miss Silliman 2011

Engineering Bet Crowned Miss Silliman 2011

Miss Engineering and Design Alexis Dawn Masangkay was crowned last night as the 65th Miss Silliman. She makes history for her College as its first Miss Silliman.

Masangkay, 20, a third year student in Computer Engineering who consistently ranks on the honors roll and is popular for her passion for dancing, bested ten other candidates. She also won Miss Professionalism, Best in Talent and Best Speaker.

Winning first runner-up was Athena Xcylz Mission from the College of Nursing, who also won Best in Production and Miss Photogenic. Second runner-up was Bianca Camille Bulaybulay from the Medical School who was selected Darling of the Press. Gesta Riva Gamo from the College of Mass Communication and Vanesa Bea Hinoguin from the College of Business Administration, who received the Voters' Choice Award, came in third and fourth runners-up, respectively.


Miss Institute of Clinical Laboratory Sciences Keziah Marie Montebon received three minor awards: Best in Global Professional Look, Best in Casual Wear and Best in Evening Gown, while Miss College of Arts and Sciences Gaiana Capilla was named Miss Congeniality.

The panel of judges was chaired by TV personality and former Binibing Pilipinas-Universe Ms Joyce Burton Titular and had as members: Puerto Princesa Mayor Edward Hagedorn, Philippines' first woman commercial pilot Capt. Marie Castillo, 2011 Outstanding Sillimanian in Nursing Leadership Ms Beatriz Aya-ay Jackson and Smart Communication Regional Manager for Retail Sales (Visayas-Mindanao) Mr. John Cañonero.